A Christ-centered institution.


Academics

Undergraduate Academic Calendar

Spring  2014 Semester

 

January

                                              

College offices closed for Christmas holidays

 Dec. 23-Jan.1

 Spring semester payment or payment plan due

 January 3. Fri.

 New Student Check-In, 10:00  to 2:00 pm (required)

 January 6, Mon.

Faculty Pro Day

January 6, Mon. 

 New Student Orientation

 January 6 – 7, Mon.– Tues.

 Continuing Student Check-In 10:00-3:00 pm (required)

 January 7, Tues.

 New Student Late Arrivals Check-in begins   ($100 penalty)

 January 7, Tues.

 Continuing Student Late Arrivals Check-in begins   ($100 penalty)

 January 8, Wed.

 Classes begin at 8:00 am

 January 8, Wed.

 Opening Convocation at 10:00 am

 January 8, Wed.

 Computer Competency Exam (CS 102E) at 3:00 pm

 January 10, Fri.

 Last day to add a course

 January 15, Wed.

 Drop a course with a grade of “W” begins

 January 16, Thurs.

 Martin Luther King Day (college closed)

 January 20, Mon.

  


 

 February

 

 Scholarship Day

February 21, Fri.

March

 

Last day to apply for May graduation

 March 3. Mon.

Midterm

 March 5, Wed.

Spring break begins after last class (residence halls close at 5:00 pm)

 March 7, Fri.

Residence halls reopen at 7:00 pm

 March 16, Sun.

Classes resume at 8:00 am              

 March 17, Mon.

Advisement Week

  March 17 – 21, Mon – Fri.

Drop a course with a grade of “WF” begins

 March 18, Tues.

 Spring Open House

March 21-22, Fri.-Sat.

Seniors reserve Fall & Summer 2014 classes

 March 24 – 27, Mon. – Thurs.

April

 

Continuing students reserve Fall & Summer 2014 classes

 March 31-April 4, Tues.-Fri.

Current students may reserve current room Fall 2014

 April 8 – 11, Tues. – Fri.

Easter break begins after last class (residence halls close at 5:00 p.m.)

April 17, Thurs.

College Offices closed for Easter holidays

April 18-April 21

Residence halls reopen at 7:00 p.m.

April 21, Mon.

Classes resume at 8:00 a.m. (follow a Monday schedule)

April 22, Tues.

Honors Convocation

 April 23, Wed.

Board of Trustees meeting

 April 24-25, Thurs.-Fri.

May

 

Last Day of Class

 May 2, Fri.

Registration/ Payment deadline for May Term classes

 May 2, Fri.

Final exams begin at 8:00 am

 May 5-8, Mon.-Thurs.

Baccalaureate Service at 7:30 pm

 May 9, Fri.

Spring Commencement at 2:00 pm

 May 10, Sat.

 Faculty Academic Assessment Day

May 12, Mon.

May Term

 May 14-June 4, Wed-Wed.

Last day to drop a class May Term (12:30 pm deadline)

 May 16, Fri.

Registration/Payment for summer classes due

 May 16, Fri.

College offices closed for Memorial Day

 May 26, Mon.

June

Last Day to Apply for August Graduation

 June 2, Mon.

Spring grades of Incomplete (I) convert to Failing (F)

 June 20, Fri.

 

Fall  2014 Semester  


August 
Fall semester payment or payment plan due  August 4, Monday 
Student Leadership workshop August 10-15, Sunday-Friday 
Faculty Workshop August 13-14, Wednesday-Thursday 
New Student Check-in, 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. (required)  August 15, Friday 
New Students move into residence halls August 15, Friday 
Welcome Week August 15-18, Friday-Monday 
New Student Late Arrivals Check-in begins at 10 a.m. ($100 penalty) August 18, Monday 
Continuing Student Check-In, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. (required) August 18, Monday 
Continuing Student Late Arrivals Check-in begins ($100 penalty) August 19, Tuesday 
Classes begin at 8 a.m. August 19, Tuesday 
Opening Convocation at 10 a.m.  August 20, Wednesday 
Computer Competency Exam (CS 102E) at 3 p.m.  August 25, Monday 
Last day to add a course August 26, Tuesday
Drop a course with a grade of “W” begins August 27, Wednesday

September  
Labor Day September 1, Monday 
Constitution Day Commemoration September 15, Monday 
Community Day September 16, Tuesday 

October   
Last day to apply for December graduation October 1, Wednesday 
Homecoming and Family Weekend October 3-4, Friday-Saturday
Fall break begins after last class (residence halls close at 5 p.m.) October 9, Wednesday
Residence halls reopen at 7 p.m. October 12, Sunday
Classes resume at 8 a.m. October 13, Monday
Midterm October 15, Wednesday
Board of Trustees meeting October 16-17, Thursday-Friday
Crossroads: Faith and Culture Project October 20-24, Monday-Friday
Drop a course with a grade of “WF” begins October 24, Friday
Advisement Week October 27-31, Monday-Friday

November
Seniors reserve Spring 2015 classes November 3-7, Monday-Friday
Board of Visitors meeting November 7-8, Friday-Saturday
Continuing Students reserve Spring 2015 classes November 10-14, Monday-Friday
Thanksgiving break begins after last class (residence halls close at 5 p.m.) November 21, Friday
College offices closed for Thanksgiving holidays November 26-28, Wednesday-Friday
Residence halls reopen at 7 p.m. November 30, Sunday

December
Classes resume at 8 a.m. December 1, Monday
Last day of class December 5, Friday
Final exams begin at 8 a.m. December 8-11, Monday-Thursday
Christmas vacation begins after last exam (residence halls close at 5 p.m.) December 11, Thursday
December Commencement at 2 p.m. December 13, Saturday
College offices closed for Christmas holidays December 23-January 1, Tuesday-Thursday

January
Fall grades of Incomplete (I) convert to original grade January 23, Friday