Our Leadership

Our leaders are distinctive in their commitment to Christ. That makes Montreat unique—even among many church-affiliated institutions. That commitment forms the foundation for everything we do.


Paul J. Maurer brings a wealth of experience as the eighth president of Montreat College. As a visionary and results-driven Christian leader, he believes deeply in the value of Christ-centered higher education. Drawing from more than 25 years of leadership in nonprofit and higher education administration, Dr. Maurer has led efforts in governance, organizational development, marketing and communications, adult and graduate studies, and government relations.

Learn more about President Maurer »


Members of the President’s Cabinet are:

Board of Trustees

2016-17 Board of Trustees

  • Mr. W. Allen Bell — Atlanta, GA
  • Dr. David Bruce — Black Mountain, NC
  • Mr. Norman “Bruce” Burdett—Montreat, NC
  • Ms. H. Claire Efird — Wilmington, NC
  • Mr. William B. Haynes — Greer, SC (chairman)
  • Dr. Jeff Heck—Asheville, NC
  • Pastor George K. Logan — Morganton, NC
  • Mr. Richard Moffatt III — Chattanooga, TN
  • Mr. Justin P. Ramb — Orlando, FL
  • Mr. Harold Benjamin Scott, Jr. — Hudson, OH
  • Mrs. Dayle L. Seneff — Winter Park, FL
  • Mrs. Suzanne R. Sloan — Charlotte, NC
  • Mrs. Lynne Veerman—Orlando, FL

Learn more about the trustees here »

Read the most recent Letter from the Board »


Montreat College’s bylaws and articles of incorporation are available for public view.