Montreat College has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Baylor University to exchange expertise and work collaboratively in the field of cybersecurity education.

Under the terms of the MOU, Montreat and Baylor seek to further research, education, and workforce development in cybersecurity, artificial intelligence, and the ethics and applications of these fields for the common good. Through collaboration and knowledge sharing, the institutions aim to advance research and education in these critical areas, while emphasizing character and ethics as essential components of cybersecurity.

“Baylor is recognized as an R1 research institution due to the university’s focus and investment in research at the highest levels, and Montreat College has earned national recognition for our leadership in cybersecurity education,” said Montreat College President Paul J. Maurer. “As missionally aligned Christ-centered institutions, we can combine our strengths and resources to make significant contributions with tremendous ethical and societal implications.”

The MOU seeks to benefit both institutions through consultations, cooperative research, mutual support, and various joint projects. Members of the two faculties met June 1-2 on the campus of Montreat College to begin their collaborative work.

“This agreement represents a shared commitment to advancing knowledge in one of the most important areas in our world today and into the future,” said Dr. Kevin Chambliss, Vice Provost for Research at Baylor University. “By sharing our expertise and resources, we can make a meaningful impact in cybersecurity research and education.”

Montreat College and Baylor University have both earned designation as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense (CAE-CD) by the National Security Agency. A national leader in cybersecurity education, Montreat College is one of only seven four-year institutions and the only private college in North Carolina with CAE-CD designation, while Baylor is one of just five private universities to earn the designation in Texas.