The Bob Watt 5th Annual Golf Tournament June 19, 2012 was a great success: in addition to the flawless course and perfect weather, $37,112 was raised for the Keystone Scholarship fund.

Tony Robinson, Montreat’s director of admissions and outreach and the new men’s golf coach, summed up the experience: “Great weather, great course, great way to share the Montreat College story,” he wrote via email. “I was glad to reconnect with old friends [and] alumni, and make new friends with Montreat supporters.”

Twenty-one foursomes (83 golfers) played at the “straight scramble” tournament, competing for several prizes.  The 2012 winning team was Rodney Monroe’s team; second place went to the Wells Fargo team. The tournament also consisted of a putting contest and several contest holes including Closest to the Pin, Hole-in-One, Longest Drive, and Longest Putt.  The winners were awarded various prizes including Biltmore tickets, an Evening at the Cove, gift certificates, and more.  The first-place winner of the putting contest, Stan Robinson, received a three-day seminar at the Cove while the second-place winner, Jim Burt, received a $100 gift certificate to The Cliffs Pro Shop.  All participants in the putting contest received a putting cup.

This event, the college’s fifth annual golf tournament, took place at the beautiful grounds at The Cliffs at Walnut Cove.  The tournament was renamed “The Bob Watt Memorial Golf Tournament” in honor of its namesake, who held a passion for both golfing and Montreat College.  Watt, a trustee emeritus at Montreat, helped transform the golf tournament into the college’s premier fundraising event that it is today.  All proceeds from the tournament, other than direct production costs, go towards the Keystone Scholarship fund, assisting students with their tuition.

Several Montreat College alumni, faculty and staff participated in the golf tournament.  In addition to fourteen alumni, the president, provost, two cabinet members, two professors, four staff members, and a volunteer competed in the tournament.